IoZ Staff and PhD Students

Institute of Zoology team photo Director of Science

Senior Management Team

Joint ZSL and University College London Staff



Senior Research Fellows

Research Fellows

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Research Associates

Postgraduate Research Assistants

Project Managers, Coordinators & Assistants

  • Robert Deaville (Cetacean Strandings Project Manager)
  • Louise Gibson (Project Coordinator)
  • Heidi Ma (Hainan Gibbon Conservation Programme Coordinator)
  • Nicole Milligan (Wildlife Ecology & Conservation Database Manager)
  • Alexandra Thomas (Wildlife Health Bridge Coordinator)
  • Isla Watton (Soapbox Science Coordinator)

Science Support (Technicians)

  • Kelly Astley
  • Lola Brookes
  • Merry Crowson
  • Kevin Hopkins (Senior Technician)
  • Seth Jackson
  • Inez Januszczak
  • Shinto John (Microbiology Technician)
  • Matthew Perkins (Senior Technician)
  • Chris Sergeant (Animal Technician)

Science Operations (Administration)

  • Denise Bamfo (PA to Director and Administrator)
  • Amrit Dehal (Information Systems Administrator)

ZSL Scientific Publications & Meetings

  • Fiona Fisken (Managing Editor - International Zoo Yearbook)
  • Jennifer Howes (Scientific Events Coordinator & Journals Administrator)
  • Elina Rantanen (Journals Manager)

UK PhD Students

Overseas PhD Students

  • Mario Andres Alvarado-Rybak
  • Alexander Knight
  • Kate Lee
  • Diana Alexandra Penafiel Ricaurte

ECZM Resident in Wildlife Population Health

Seconded Research Staff

  • Dr David Daversa (University of Liverpool)

Honorary Research Fellows

  • Dr Sarah Ball
  • Dr Stefano Canessa (Ghent University) 
  • Dr Michael Hudson (Durrell-IoZ Conservation Research Fellow)
  • Professor Kate Jones (University College London)
  • Dr Mailys Lopes (INRA/INRIA)
  • Dr Ursula Paredes-Esquivel (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Dr Deepa Senapathi (University of Reading)