ZSL Fellows have been at the very forefront of pioneering science, ground-breaking conservation and world-leading animal husbandry for nearly 200 years. 

Please find a list below of those who have been awarded ZSL's highest honour, Honorary Fellowship, for their contributions and commitment towards our vision for a world where wildlife thrives. 

We are privileged to count some of the world’s most respected conservationists amongst our Honorary Fellows including Sir David Attenborough and His Serene Highness, Prince Albert II of Monaco.

ZSL Honorary Fellows

1975 Professor Jean Anthony

1975 Professor Jean Dorst

1977 His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh KG KT 

1984 Professor Ernst Mayr

1988 Professor Milton Thaigo de Mello

1990 Professor Knut Schmidt-Nielson 

1991 His Majesty The Emperor Akihito of Japan

1992 Professor Edward O. Wilson 

1996 Professor John Maynard-Smith FRS

1997 The Hon Miriam Rothschild DBE, FRS 

1998  Sir David Attenborough OM, CH, CVO, CBE, FRS

1999  Sir Robert May, OM, AC, FRS

2001  Professor Sir Patrick Bateson FRS 

2002  Professor Robert McNeil Alexander CBE, FRS

2002  Dr William Conway 

2003  Professor Sir Brian Follett FRS, DL 

2004  Sir Martin Holdgate CB

2005  Professor Sir John Krebs FRS

2005  Professor Katherine Ralls

2005  Professor Sir Brian Heap CBE, FRS 

2006  Professor Sir John Lawton CBE, FRS 

2007  Professor Sir John Beddington CMG, FRS

2011 Lord Claus Moser KCB, CBE

2012  Dr Desmond Morris

2013  Ken Sims

2019 The Rt Hon Lord Paul 

2020 His Serene Highness, Prince Albert II of Monaco

2020 Rupert Hambro CBE 

2021 Dr Michael Brambell

2021 Field Marshal Sir John Chapple GCB CBE

More about ZSL Fellowship